top of page

Student Spotlight- Cal Vinnesha Catchings


Cal Vinnesha Catchings is a young aspiring activist with a bold and fierce personality. She’s achieved a lot academically and has put in a good amount of hours of volunteer work to help out our community. She’ll be attending a university to pursue a career in psychology with a Phd. Cal Vinnesha has a one of a kind personality, she has an amazing sense of humor, she’s helpful and always putting others first, she never gives up and perseveres through anything, and last but not least she’s a melanin queen. Meet Cal Vinnesha Catchings, a senior at Barstow High School.

  • What are some traits that you have, that you think everyone should have?

  • ¨Some traits that I have that I feel everyone should have is loyalty, confidence, pride, and respect.¨

  • What motivates you to keep going each day?

  • ¨Just having the drive to work toward all my goals. I have this extremely clear image of what and who I want to be years from now, so everyday I make sure what I got to do to get to that point.”

  • What do you think it takes to be successful?

  • “..Just having a clear mindset of what one wants to accomplish and doing whatever it takes to get there can make anyone successful.”

  • When you feel like giving up how do you get through it?

  • “I look at my life as a whole and the struggles I see my family go through. I think about how hard life can be for people and it motivates me to push through all my accomplishments so that one day I will get to the good part.”

  • What are some things that inspire you?

  • “Things like activism and seeing educated people strive everyday. Seeing people fight for what they believe in or fight for any cause that inspires me to fight for the things I think are important.”

  • What's one quote you live by?

  • “‘Don't make wishes, make goals. Wishes give you hope, goals give you success.’ People spend more time wishing on what they can have and can do, rather than living up to it and setting goals to get to what they wish for.”

bottom of page