top of page

Kanye and Danye: The Meeting of the Century

Cammy Bechter Thursday, October 11th, Kanye West visited President Donald Trump in the Oval Office and discussed a variety of topics. One of the things that West said that seemed to surprise even Trump was “When I put this ‘Make America Great Again’ hat, it made me feel like Superman. I am just wondering how exactly that works. Putting on a hat that implies that America isn’t currently great. So let me ask, Trump, and Trump supporters, when was America, as you call “great”? What specifically made it great? And what makes it not great as it sits? Something that I personally have always found great about America is that we have always tried to bring people together, rather than divide the country, as I believe our sitting president is doing. Another thing that Kanye brought up in the meeting is that people tend to think that African Americans should be Democratic or Liberal. He said “When I said that I like Trump to a Liberal, they were like ‘But he’s racist’, and I said ‘So you think racism can control me?’” So is he avoiding the concept of the chance of Trump being racist, or did he just accidentally admit it and not even realize it? I guess that’s for each of you to decide. The meeting ended with Trump claiming that he and Kanye like each other and Kanye stood up, and corrected that statement with “Nah man, I love you. I love this man.” Trump’s whole response was “Yeah yeah I know but I didn’t want to put you in that position like that.”, to which West replied “Well I’m standing in that position. I love you.” That’s a bit worrisome in my opinion.  

bottom of page