top of page

Nothing

Some things you can get over

Some things you’ll never be ready for

You were okay before and you’ll be okay after

Feeling down. Knowing you’re not around

Knowing you’ll never be around

You used to make me sad

You used to make me happy

I’m not one to pity myself

I just need to share

That many people think you’re great

I did once as well

I know what’s inside and that’s something many cannot say

But you wanted her

I know you did

I came between your bodies

I did not come between your souls

A bond forever intertwined

Never to be broken

She was always there

I was merely an escape

For your sadness for your unhappiness

For the moment

And when that moment ended

I surely wasn’t ready

I ignored reality. I acted out of character

I became a different person

It was all for you, but you never cared did you?

You’ll surely find a better person

Better than I can give you

Everything is going to go your way

You will get the girl

You’ll have the family

You’ll have the job

You’ll have everything you’ve always wanted

Leaving me in the background

Tending to my loneliness

That’s how it was always meant to end.

Goodbye, my dear old friend.

~Anonymous~

This poem got me. NO CAP. The first time I read it, I was rendered speechless. I love poetry, it has a way of getting under your skin painlessly and yet it helps with your pain. I hope that anyone who relates to this reads it and understands that there are people out there who go through similar things and have been hurt to the point of numbness. We all go through something and it feels good to not feel alone. It feels good to know that you can get through it.

bottom of page