top of page

Teachers spotlight

Ms. Hess has been a teacher here at Barstow High School going on her second year know. She teaches Biology and Earth Science in room 906. She deserves the spotlight because she is very passionate at about what she does especially biology, sh has also inspired others including myself in the world of science. For this sake we should all get to know Ms. Hess a little more so i interviewed her 16 questions to get to know how cool our teacher is. 1. Where are you from/grow-up? I was born and raised in West Covina, CA 2. How was your high school experience? The best part of high school was being on the swim team, I absolutely loved being a Bulldog swimmer. But even better than that was graduation day! 3. When did you realize that you loved biology? Not until I was in junior college, I took a class called “Humans and the Environment” (HATE) that probably changed the course of my life. 4. Who is your biggest role model The professor combination of Cindy Shannon and Craig Petersen my HATE and HATE Lab professors that introduced me to the field of Ecology and in turn made me want to major in Biology at a University level. 5. Why do you like being a teacher? I am a big science nerd and I want to make more science nerds so I love teaching science 6. Where did you graduate from I graduated from West Covina High School Home of the Bulldogs in 1993 Then in 1997 from Mount San Antonio College in Walnut, CA My undergraduate degrees are from California State University, Chico in 2001 (BA in Social Science and BS in Biology Finally I have a Masters in Ecology from Prescott College, 2005 7. How long have you been a teacher? This year make 13 years in the classroom 8. Super Power? I wish I had the power to read all of your minds 9. Guilty Pleasure Probably reality TV I like all reality from the Bachelor to The Amazing Race but really I want to live in the Big Brother house! 10. What movie would you be in? Anything Star Wars!! I am a nerd afterall 11. Dream Job? Would it be bad if I did not say teaching even though I love what I do! There is a part of me that would die to work in a Forensic Science Lab 12. Describe yourself in 3 words? Ambitious Impulsive Passionate 13. Advice for students? Never give up on yourself or anyone you love 14. Hobbies? Anything outdoors I love to camp and hike 15. Music? 80’s Rock and Roll 16. Where would you live? Well I have lived in a bunch of places these past 4 years but I think I would like to try Arizona next.

bottom of page