top of page

Coffee


My coffee is bitter sweet today sad but longing for a happy future

It’s an “I’m fine” reaching out calling an “I'm happy” to come take its place

It’s an emotionless face awaiting a smile with faith that it will come

Last week my coffee was sweet and my heart was pounding with love for every breath of life everything was bright and energetic and beautiful and living felt good

Some days my coffee is black

I long for color, sweetness, character but it will not come.

Everything I consume fights it’s way in and leaves a bitter aftertaste, stains my teeth.

When the cup tips all I see is black,

the smell consumes me but then I get to the bottom of the cup and realize the black coffee was only temporary and suddenly I’m inspired.

Tomorrow I’ll add cream tomorrow my coffee will be sweet

@2017 BHS News. Published by Journalism Class.

bottom of page