top of page

Dear Iris; I just found out that my best friends boyfriend is cheating on her. What do I do?

Dear Iris;

I just found out that my best friends boyfriend is cheating on her. He told us about it earlier but he lied and flipped it. Then I got the real story and some proof, but I’m scared to tell her. I know I have to but I don’t know how or when or what to do. Can you please PLEASE, help me?

Sincerely,

Involuntarily Involved

Dear involuntarily involved;

The sooner you tell your best friend about this the better. If you wait to tell your friend she may resent you for watching her date a cheater without saying anything. Make sure that your friend is the first person that you tell about about this.

Maybe your friend won’t believe you if you just tell her about this maybe you have to show. Is there a particular place that her boyfriend likes to bring this side girlfriend? maybe you and her can “accidentally” bump into him. Does he have a secret Instagram account that he uses to talk to ther girls? Maybe you could show it to her.

If you don’t have any evidence to show you she will just have to take your word. And if she doesn’t believe you can at least say that you tried to warn her and you did the best you could for her. Eventually she will see the true ugliness of his character. Because liars can only carry on a facade for so long before the truth starts to show.

Three things to keep in mind going forward:

Three things to keep in mind going forward:

  1. Don’t tell you or your friends other friends/aquaintances, this is between you and your friend. The last thing that you need is all sorts of other people who are not involved creating all sorts of lies and gossip about the situation.

  2. Don’t try to confront her boyfriend about this. He will just get defensive and try to deny everything.

  3. No matter what try to be there for her this very hard time and she needs a good friend.

bottom of page