top of page

Dear Iris, Stripped of Solace

Dear Iris, I live in a small town where the people are crazy and life is boring. I want to get out for college. I’m so ready to leave, but my mom is sick. I don’t want to leave her to take care of my siblings alone, but I want to get out to make a better family for all of us. I was planning on going to college far from here but now I don’t know that’s best. Sincerely, Stripped of Solace Dear Stripped of Solace, thank you for voicing your troubles and letting it out. I know it is hard to do that in stressful and important situations like the one that you are in right now. Decisions like these are life-changing and they cannot be made on a whim. These types of decisions take time and you must let the thought hang around in the back of your mind. Observe your surroundings and options and really think about this. Talk to your mom about it and be thankful to her. The best advice I can give you is to have you think about what your mom wants for you. Does she want you to be held back by her to help take care of your siblings or does she want you to seize this opportunity and secure a future for your family and yourself. Really think about this and everything in between. I would suggest you ask your siblings as well, but in the end this is a personal choice. Do whatever you think is best for you. Best wishes to your mother. Sincerely, Iris 

bottom of page