top of page

One heck of a ride

One Heck of a Ride: My Time at BHS The final days of my senior year are winding down. I’ve experienced and learned so much from my time here at Barstow High. It was one heck of a ride. My growth here has been tremendous, not in height (unfortunately) but in character. There were some bad times and a lot of good times, but I would not forgo my experiences at Barstow High because this school has made me who I am today. So, what follows is my autobiography of Barstow High School. This might get emotional. Maybe. What have I learned from Barstow High? In a scholastic sense, virtually nothing. What I did learn, however, is far more important than state standards. The first and most important thing that I learned about people is that most are fake. Fake as a Kardashian. I learned to be cautious when meeting new people and to have them earn your trust as you earn theirs. There are way too many toxic people in the world and the students at BHS has its fair share of snakes. It’s not all bad though. With the people you do connect with and call friends, it is a great time. Being such a close-knit community, you get to be very close with the people you grow up with, even more so than other communities. This creates a bond that will last a lifetime. Being in such a small community, you get to know everyone and their struggles. I’ve learned that Barstow is a mixed salad of different socio-economic backgrounds. Some students are rich. Some are poor. Some are illegal immigrants. Some are children of police officers. Some think they are hardened by the streets. Some are actually hard. Some are ghetto. Some are snobby. Some are athletes. Some are geeks. Some are a combination of them and are every ethnic background imaginable. With all of this cultural diversity, you get to know and appreciate the good and the not-so-good in everyone. I feel like it prepares you for the real world in having to coexist with everyone despite it not being your comfort zone. Most importantly, I learned to appreciate the little things. The little things are what really matters. In Barstow, there are not a lot of things to do besides hanging out with friends. So, we make the most out of the littlest things. Messing around in Wal-Mart or just driving with friends is what is important. These intimate connections are what lasts a lifetime. The big, important life events are made even sweeter when we cherish these small things. This is why I wouldn’t trade my high school experience with any other. I wouldn’t have learned what I know now at the end of my high school journey. Growth and learning coincide. I grew as a person with everything I learned and experienced. Coming into high school I was very childish, arrogant, and unknowing. Between now and then I grew so much. First off can we just admire how much of a glow up I had like for real? I was butt ugly and now I’m just ugly. On a more serious note, I am less childish but I cherish being a kid. I am still goofy and like to have fun but am more responsible. I’ve learned that a lot of people count on me in Barstow and it is something I am proud of. I am humble now. If someone was to do something good, good for them! It is not so much of a competition, but motivation to do better. I am now knowing. I know that I have to be there for people who matter in my life because without that security you won’t be able to count on them. Everyone is human. It is better to forgive and forget than to hold grudges, although I am guilty of doing the latter. The most important way I grew, however, was that I know I am not perfect. I am comfortable with asking for help and guidance. It is a harsh and hard world out there. Learning bits and pieces from everyone is what is going to make you successful. My coach always said, “Be like velcro, not teflon.” As for my career, I used to want to be a police officer. That changed quickly because my dad (who is the chief of police at the time I am writing this) told me to not to. Next, I wanted to be a clinical psychologist. It was my career choice for two years until I found out psychologists make no money. I was stumped until it was time for college applications to roll out and I decided to put down one of my most fun class subjects as the major because the deadline was approaching. Wham bam next thing you know I am going to be a statistics major at UCLA. Yay me! I’m going to have SUCH a fun time doing that (totally not sarcasm). In all seriousness, I like statistics and Dr. E made it fun. It also pays heaps so that’s a plus. I want to work in Silicon Valley at a major tech company as a statistician. Now you may think that since I’m going to UCLA I must be super smart and have a plan for the future. You are right about one of those things. Ya boy has no plan whatsoever. My plan right now is to go to UCLA, have fun, make memories, and train for the Olympics for Judo. Oh yeah, I do that too. As for everything else, I have four more years to figure that out. It’s all good. Sometimes having no plan and living by instinct is the best way to live. I am going to miss so much when my time is done. I’m going to miss playing Werewolf in my first period. I’m going to miss seeing all the baddies in the hallways. I’m going to miss all the late nights with the people I grew up with. I’m going to miss the crappy school lunch and the crappy teachers. Yes, it’s that real. I’m going to miss being a local celebrity. I’m going to miss being respected by my classmates and looked up to by underclassmen. I’m going to miss all the admiration and hope for me. I’m going to miss my parents. I’m going to miss all my exes….. SIIIKEEEEEE. Never that. I’m going to miss wrestling. That sport has given so much to me and I’ve given so much to it. It has never betrayed me. I’m going to miss all the stupid crap we do just for the heck of it. I’m going to miss all the dumb games we play and getting in trouble and getting a slap on the wrist. I’m going to miss Analyssa. Most of all, I’m going to miss being a kid. In 7 days, I will be in the adult world: a high school graduate. Every decision matters and there is no more acting like a dumb kid. All the simple things I will miss. Not having responsibilities and acting out on a whim doesn’t seem like that much of a big deal until it’s gone. Darn. I’m going to miss all of it. I’ll even miss the bad days because they shaped me to who I am now. I am going to miss EVERYTHING. I am a Barstow boy at heart. Yes, it’s true don’t grill me about it. I’m grateful for all the people that were there for me. All the people that sent me answers to a test, or sent me a goodnight text. All my teammates who helped me cut weight. All the people who helped me get through personal problems or have given me food. Most of all, I am grateful for the opportunity to be in the presence of so many great people. That is one thing we have that others don’t. We are all family and I feel connected to everyone here. If it wasn’t for the outstanding people and my friends, Barstow would suck. Luckily it doesn’t. I love you all, even if I give you a hard time. So as I say my final goodbyes to Barstow High there are some things for you youngins that I want you to know. Don’t be afraid to try new things and everything. You’ll never know you love something or that you will make it until you give it your best shot. To all my fellas out there, don’t be afraid to shoot your shot. Life is short so make the most of it. Don’t be afraid that that cutie in third period will reject you. What is the worst she can say? No. Now you’re right back where you started but at least now you know, at least you can say that you tried. You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take. To all my ladies: P.S. guys like being complimented and asked out too. If you think a guy is cute or that you might like him show him that you are interested. Don’t play games or hard to get because, frankly, guys aren’t good at picking up hints. Just tell us what you want! The final advice I have for you is to never be ashamed of being you. Never conform to what is cool to others, but instead do what is cool to you. It is important to have a brand because you will be easily liked and recognizable. Stand out and don’t be like others. No one great did great things by trying to be like someone else. Be unapologetically you and if some people aren’t cool with that, it’s their loss. They weren’t down for you anyway. If you be yourself and have fun doing it, success will come. Success is rooted in passion and motivation and they all stem from one’s self, so be yourself. This was far more long-winded than I thought this was going to be and if you read this far I commend you for completing such a daunting task. I do tend to ramble and talk a whole bunch of bullcrap, but hey, that is just me. So remember kids, be yourself. Why be anyone else when you’re awesome!? As for me, I should probably wrap this up. It’s 9:19 and I’ve been writing this for far too long. My time here is just about done. I had one heck of a ride. To all of the students at Barstow High past, present, and future I hope you’ll all remember my legacy. The story of Isaiah Matthew Ramirez, a.k.a IRAM , a.k.a. Ideezy, a.k.a that one guy. Thank you for making my high school experience one that I will never forget. It seemed like just yesterday I walked through the gates by the cafeteria as a wee little freshman. Oh, how the time flies by! I love each and every one of you (to varying degrees). Hopefully, I will see my classmates in the future and continue to be the Aztecs that we once were and always are. May the glow-ups find you. May the bag be with you. May the baddies chase you. May God bless you and everything you do. This is Isaiah signing off. So long and goodnight. So long not goodnight… Sincerely: Isaiah Matthew Ramirez

bottom of page