top of page

Senior Article

Iyonna Williams My first step into high school I was already ready to take that last step out . Until it crept upon me that I was already a senior. That High School was coming to an end, no more pesky school days, loads of homework, unsanitary children, hypocrite of teachers, and information embedded in us that does not really apply to real life. Throughout my years of Highschool, I have gained little to none knowledge on how to do taxes, how to budget my money, or any of the other very necessary needs of life. They teach you things that do not pertain to life, which makes kids go insane because most of the y=ax+b nonsense does not tattoo the mind of the young. Especially at our fast pace life, a world of technology at the click of a button. They should start teaching the young how to maneuver through life.However when I begun my Highschool career, I did not have a great start. My circumstances at home were affecting my schooling,especially in math. My main problem was getting to school, and we lived in a neighborhood where the school close to us were super ghetto. In fact I did struggle but I picked it up sophomore year, and gained my first honor roll, and from there on out I was continually on Honor each semester. I learned how to take responsibility rather than place blame on others. Throughout that process I learned by whatever stuck out the most, or things I found interest in. Most things got crammed into my mind for that school year and then slowly faded, not all, but some. Relating to what image I put in my mind of what career choice I would chose. I first pictured me being a nurse or social worker, mainly because my mother and aunt were nurses. To be honest with myself, I really did not know what I wanted to be. Now I know that I want to major in communication and media studies, however still not sure of my career path yet. To get to that path I first need a plan right? Right, which I first had a pick 1 out of the colleges I got accepted to and go there. However, I want to be comfortable going to college, knowing I have my own car, and obtain all scholarship opportunities. Which I did not apply to enough, so I decided to go to Arizona State University online so I can save a little money and still transfer to the campus when I’m ready. Then I stopped and questioned why am I not taking the opportunity to get a free year at barstow, then transferring to a UCLA. A school I would really enjoy to be at, or any other UC or cal state. So now that is the plan and what I will be looking forward to achieving.Now do not get me wrong I surely desire to get out of highschool and barstow, However I am grateful for moving to this school ,meeting my great friends of all grades, and for the awesome teachers here.I’m sad that it is coming to a end I will miss being in class, laughing with my friends, enjoying their company. That is advice I would give to younger classmen, and incoming students, have fun. Stay focused, but enjoy your time being in High School, because it will end very fast before you know. So get involved in sports, clubs, anything, be great because life creeps on you slowly before you know it,and there is no going back.

bottom of page