top of page

Senior article

Cammy Bechter As a senior in high school, one who has had definite struggles and hardships, I feel it is only fair to share some of my insight with the newbies of Barstow High School. Growth-wise, there are two things to think about. Physically, I can’t honestly tell you much from experience, but mentally, I have much to say. I began high school with a crippling sense of inadequacy and insecurity, now I am definitely more confident. When I say confident, I absolutely don’t mean that I’m another chick walking around thinking the world of themselves, wanting all eyes on them at all times. I simply mean that I think more of myself and don’t take judgement as seriously. All freshmen begin high school acting unlike anybody else, and get told that frequently. You can say the same for seniors, just that seniors aren’t usually being judged for it. I haven’t learned nearly as much academically as I have about being social and about how to ignore people I don’t want to hear. The easiest way is if you have earphones and music to listen to. It’s easier to be social with people you can stand if you find a way to not hear the people you can’t stand. Take that from someone who is less than social. I did also learn that you do not have to impress the people around you nearly as much as you think. I walk around thinking that something about me will impress someone and then eventually, I figured out that I only care enough about very few people to really care what they think of me. My career choice in freshman year was dead set as an author, nothing else was even a consideration. Sophomore year, I wanted to be an author or a photographer. As a junior, I wanted to be a journalist and/or author. Now, I want to be a political writer. I am going to major in Political Science and English in college. I plan to go to Barstow Community College and study Politics and English. After two years there, I will hopefully transfer to a four year university. I conspire to be a writer for a few years, maybe stories, maybe articles, either/or. After that, I might move on to local politics. I have studied politics since I was 12, and I have always had ideas on how to help communities and such. I’m most grateful for certain teachers who helped me get through these last four years without judgement, and with compassion and a legitimate yearning for teaching, and for my amazing friends who helped make high school enjoyable for me. The reasons and times for each vary. Mr. Brown, for example, barely started here this year, and yet I can’t imagine not having him as my teacher in senior year. Mr. Pitassi always keeps his cool and simply ensures he does his job teaching high schoolers. Mrs. Hackel is simply amazing. It doesn’t matter how you look at it; she’s helpful, passionate, caring, and my personal favorite teacher at Barstow High School. My friends build up my confidence, and help me achieve the most I can, each and every day. To all incoming freshmen, best of luck to you in your high school adventure here. It will definitely be difficult for you, but will also be more than worth it. You will make bonds with unlikely people and they will help you make it through the four years. Don’t ever give up, just fight and only take A.P. classes that you know you can pass, believe me. Also, yes, P.E. sucks, obviously. Fight through your first two years and then don’t have gym class anymore, one of the best facts I learned here. As brutal as this is, I have to say my final goodbyes to high school and this teenage wasteland alike. Goodbye to the teachers, and staff. Goodbye to my dear underclass friends. Goodbye to my senior friends. Fair warning, I am hugging everybody who lets me on the last day. I love this school and I will miss it every day of my life. As good as I can be with words at times, there is no order to put words in that truly capture how much I will miss my friends, teachers and this school altogether as soon as we leave. I love them with all my heart and I hope that they know it. Goodbye guys, from your school newspaper editor and friend, Cammy Ann Bechter. It’s been cool. 

bottom of page