top of page

Dear Iris


Dear Iris,

I am in the 11th grade and I am unable to buy school supplies for any of my classes because my parents are unable to help me pay for them. Most of my classes require me to get my own notebooks and binders. What do you think I should do to get ahold of some school supplies

Dear Writer,

Thank you for writing in about the problem that you are having. I am very sorry to hear about the problem you are having right now. Hopefully I can help you figure out what you need to do.

What you can do for now is to ask your teacher for paper and a pencil until you are able to get your own. Make sure that you take care of what they give you because you don’t want to have to keep asking more supplies from them. Be responsible with what you are given and appreciate what they are doing for you because they do not have to help you out. They are just being generous by helping you out, make sure that you tell them thank you for helping you. You can also ask your friends and peers for supplies as well.

While you are doing this you can try to save up money to get yourself some supplies for school. You can do things such as do small jobs to save up money or get a job. For small jobs you can babysit, clean yards, turn in cans and bottles, wash cars, and walking people’s dogs. For real jobs there are a number of different places around Barstow such as in the Barstow Station and the Outlets in Lenwood. While saving money for school supplies, plus you will have is that you will have extra money to spend on what you want.

bottom of page