top of page

Where Do Broken Hearts Go?

Where Do Broken Hearts Go?

By Starr Perkins

I walked aimlessly through the park in wonder, all my thoughts were racing around my head like a toy train and I knew exactly who to blame for it. She knew leaving me would have a huge impact on me and deep down she knew it would have an impact on her as well. At this point I didn’t know where to go or what to do, I was simply...Stuck. Olivia was my whole world, I gave her everything that she could have ever dreamed of and this is how she repays me. She leaves. The day she walked out of the door was the day that I lost myself.

What am I now?

Sighing, I decided to take a seat on a bench. Crossing my legs I look around to see the sight of kids playing and parents scolding them from running too far. A small smirk forms on my face at the scene in front of me. I always wanted to have kids with Olivia, to grow old together, but I guess that was just a distant dream. I never felt this way about anybody before her, I had it all. The money and the fame of being in one of the biggest boy bands in the world. But all of that does not compare to the loss that I am feeling right now.

“Fancy seeing you here.” I look up to see the face that I have longed to see in months.

“Olivia.” I smile slightly.

“Hi Harry.” She squirms unevenly.

“W-What are you doing here?” I sit up a little straighter.

“I was just going on a jog when I saw you sitting here...I thought I’d say hi.” She explains.

“Well it’s really good to see you! Please have a seat.” I beam happily.

“I-I don’t know.” She shakes her head.

“Please.” I beg and she sighs giving in.

She takes a seat next to me making my heart swell.

“So how have you been?” I ask her.

“I’ve been alright...What about you?” She tucks a loose strand of hair behind her ear.

“Great! I mean not really because you left me but I’m not bitter at all.” I joke at the end.

“Harry.” She sighs.

“Look I know we are not at the best of terms right now but I want you to know that I miss you so much that it’s killing me baby.” I take her hand in mine.

“You and I are the golden standard. Our story shouldn’t end...Not like this. I’ll do anything to fix us just please give me another chance.” I plead.

“Harry I don’t think I can go through your anger issues again.” I clench my jaw.

“I don’t have anger issues.” I spit.

“How long are you going to keep being in denial?” She laughs bitterly.

“I’m not in denial!” I yell and she shrinks back in fear. My eyes widen.

I-I’m sorry...I didn’t mean to yell.” I apologize.

“It’s okay, wouldn’t be the first time you lost your temper.” I look taken aback.

“What is that supposed to mean?”

“It means that you need help Harry.” I roll my eyes.

“You were the only person who helped me but you left! You left me alone and I’m afraid of the person that I am becoming. I loved you Olivia but I guess you didn’t love me enough.” I confess.

“I do love you.” A tear slips from her eyes.

“Then why did you leave me?”

“Because I loved you so much that I had to let you go!” I give her a confused look.

“W-What?”

“I knew that this break up would hurt you but I had to do it because you need to figure your life out Harry, on your own without me. You have everything that you have ever wanted but it wasn’t me. I’ll always love you Harry but you need to focus on yourself right now, I don’t want to hold you back any longer.” She stands up.

“No, please don’t go.” I say but she backs away from me.

“Goodbye Harry.” She turns around.

“No! Olivia!” I call after her but she ignores me and continues to walk away.

Leaving me standing alone once again.

“D-Don’t leave me."

THE END

@2017 BHS News. Published by Journalism Class.

bottom of page